Before I start, I should say I just recently found out that mincemeat is in fact not entirely meat. I thought it was just chopped up meat bits that people put into pastry. But that’s not totally true! You can buy mincemeat from the store and it be suet free! So I thought this year I would finally try and make mincemeat tarts! Also that’s why my blog post is a little later than usual, I just finished baking them..

Also I can’t believe blogmas is over tomorrow (and that christmas is here in 1 more sleep)! It’s been so fun coming up with things to share for the past two weeks and brainstorming for new ideas in 2017!

I will be using Mary Berry’s recipe which can be found here and be using President’s Choice 5 Minced Fruits Blend, Suet Free.

Make sure to comment your favourite christmas desserts and/or treats!

Keep reading for the recipe and pictures!

Mince Pies (Serves 12)

Ingredients

Pastry:

  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 1/3 cup butter, cut into cubes
  • 2 tbsp icing sugar
  • Finely grated rind 1 orange
  • 1 egg, beaten

Filling:

  • 1 1/2 cups mincemeat (suet free)
  • 1 egg, beaten, to glaze
  • Icing or caster sugar for dusting

Preheat the oven to 400ºF.

  1. To make the pastry, put the flour, butter, icing sugar and grated orange rind into a food processor bowl and process until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs. Pour in the beaten egg and pulse the blade until the dough starts to form a ball. Knead lightly by hand on a floured board.
  2. Roll the pastry out thinly on a lightly floured work surface and cut out
    18 rounds using a 7.5cm fluted cutter. Use these to line 18 holes of two 12-hole bun tins. Spoon a teaspoon of mincemeat into each pastry case (careful not to overfill like I did because it will overflow).
  3. Re-roll the pastry trimmings and cut out 18 stars using a 4.5-5cm star cutter. Put a star on top of the mincemeat, and brush the pastry with a little beaten egg.
  4. Bake in the preheated oven for 12-15 minutes or until golden and crisp. Allow to cool slightly and dust with icing sugar or caster sugar before serving.

 

The recipe originally said it makes 18, but I think because I used a bigger fluted cutter, they were larger pastry so I only got 12 and three smaller ones. Either way, I highly recommend giving it a try because they’re super tasty and definitely taste like Christmas/Holiday time.

 

Enjoy & Happy Holidays! 🙂

 

