Hello!

I hope you’ve been enjoying my blogmas so far. I thought that since we’re getting pretty close to the end of 2016, I would put together a list of 10 movies I saw this year and really enjoyed. Just as a FYI, I don’t like horror so sorry (but really not sorry), there won’t be any on this list. The idea from this blog post came from 100 lifestyle blog post ideas.

Eventually I’d like to write a list of the best 10 movies of all time or maybe even 20, but for now I’ll start small and work there. Make sure to let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Romance:

Me before You – Get your tissues out. I’ve re-watched this movie 3 or 4 times this year and every single time I cry. Also I read the book after watching the movie and I always find the movies are never as good as the book, but in this case it’s totally not true. I think Emilia Clarke did the part justice and it became a favourite of mine for the year.

Comedy: 

The Boss – I have to admit, I love anything with Melissa McCarthy so I may be bias towards loving the Boss. So funny and a good pick when you want to curl up in bed or on the couch and watch a movie.

My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 – I loved MBFGW 1 so when I heard that the second movie was coming out, I definitely had to see it. A mixture of comedy and corny, it was a good follow up to the first.

Fantasy: 

Fantastic beasts and where to find them – Cannot say enough positive about this movie. As you probably already know, I’m a Harry Potter fan and I love the wizarding world. So to have a movie come out based in the 20’s AND in the wizarding world, oh boy! It was just enough magic, yet so different from any of the HP movies. I’ve seen it twice in theatres and I think when it comes out on DVD, I may watch it a few hundred more times..

Star Wars (the old ones) – Yes I know I’m extremely late to the game, but I only just got around to watching Star Wars from the very beginning. So far, I haven’t seen them all but I’ve definitely enjoyed the ones I have seen. I figured this could qualify to be on this list since a new Star Wars movie just came out and I did only get around to starting to watch the old ones this year.

Animated:

Finding Dory – Perfection. It was just. I can’t. I (and I’m pretty sure everyone) was nervous since follow up movies are usually never as good as the first. But I’ll make the bold statement and say, Finding Dory might have even been better than Finding Nemo… Plus who wouldn’t love all the Modern Family cast members who were in the movie?!

Zootopia – Another great animated movie. It was a movie kids would love (with the music and bright colours) but also a movie adults (like me) could enjoy. There was a lot of jokes in the movie and jokes that I think only adults would get. Such a cute movie.

Documentary:

Michael Moore in Trumpland – I (and probably you too) don’t want to think any more about the election in America, but this movie is a must see. Although it’s set before the election, I definitely think it can still be enjoyed (plus, the time before the election was such a better time so why not pretend it still hasn’t happened)?

13th – “Centered on race in the United States criminal justice system, the film is titled after the Thirteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution, which outlawed slavery.” This documentary is a must-must-see, just be well prepared to feel a little down about the world for a few hours afterwards.

The Beatles: Eight Days a Week – To end on a happy note, the Beatles documentary. I’ve enjoyed my fair share of Beatles songs, but I wasn’t really familiar with how they came to fame and their past. This movie was a really interesting look into their career and music.

 

Before the year ends, I have a few movies like the BFG, Lala Land, Sing, Love & Friendship, Arrival and Hacksaw Ridge that I really want to see. Although in all likelihood, I’ll eventually get around to seeing them but it may not be by years end.

 

What movies did you see this year that you loved (or hated)? Any you’re hoping to see before the year ends?

Thanks for reading & happy blogging!

