Maple Mixed Berry Muffins ~fail~

I love baking and when the recipe turns out, I love it even more haha. But that’s not always the case… I tried adapting the Maple Muffins by Once Upon A Chef Jenn Segal to make them with frozen fruit. It really didn’t work out. I mean they look nice and they taste good, but rather than muffins, they’re a bit more like soup muffins. The reason: I put too much frozen fruit in and they added way more liquid than I had originally thought. I actually had a few muffins where there was less berries and they turned out great.

I still included to recipe below because I definitely suggest making them but definitely only add 1/2 a cup of frozen or fresh fruit rather than a full cup (or you can leave the fruit out for a tasty maple muffin). Now after that stellar review, give it a try and let me know how yours turn out!

Enjoy & happy blogging.

Makes: 12 muffins
Prep Time: 15 Minutes
Cook Time: 35/40 Minutes
Total Time: 50/55 Minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 & 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup of frozen mixed berries (I added 1 & 1/2 cups and like I said above, 1/2 cup frozen or fresh fruit would definitely prevent the bottoms from being so soggy or even leaving the fruit out they’d be just as delicious)

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F.
  2. In a large bowl, mix all dry ingredients – flour, baking powder and salt.
  3. In another bowl, mix together wet ingredients -maple syrup, melted butter, whole milk and egg.
  4. Add wet ingredients to dry – mix until just combined (do not over mix!).
    1. There may be a chance that the mixture is extremely runny, I added 1/4 cup of flour at a time until the mixture was less runny. This is an important step otherwise your mixture will end up like mine.
  5. Line muffin tins with muffin wrappers – I used these re-usable ones from Ikea! You could forego the wrappers, but make sure to grease the pan with cooking spray, shortening or butter.
  6. Add frozen berries and stir until just combined (do not over-mix otherwise the berries will will fall apart).
  7. Measure 1/4 cup batter into each tray.
  8. Bake at 400°F for 15 minutes
  9. Reduce oven temperature to 375°F for 20-25 minutes. Bake until golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the centre comes out clean.
  10. Let cool so they can be removed and placed on a wire rack.

Enjoy!

dscn7242

dscn7247

*If I could go back to right before this, I’d tell myself stop scooping 1/2 cup was enough! haha

dscn7248

The final product! They look & smelled amazing. Next time – less berries and they’d be great. DSCN7251.JPG

