I want more from life. Easier said than done. But it’s true. 2016 was an absolute sh*t show of a year and probably wins the award to date for worst year of my short 23 year long life (fingers crossed that on my death bed, it will still be the worst year so that everything between January 2017 and year of deathbed will be fantastic)**.

**Pls see “about” page to read that I’m an over user of parentheses.

But yes, 2017 will be my year. I’m getting a three week jump start so the ‘universe’ will have time to arrange it before New Years Day.

I started 2016 in a not so great way – at home (alone). I had just finished school and had zero job prospects lined up. I was living in a city I really enjoyed in an apartment that I really really loved, but with no income, rent and groceries were very rapidly stealing all the money I had saved. I spent from January to May job searching. The absolute worst thing human kind has ever invented (pls note exaggeration, I definitely think we’ve invented worse but I use that phrase for emphasis on how horrible job searching truly is). After 5 months pouring money into an apartment and city I had no prospects in, I moved back home. However thanks to a job posting sent from a friend and help from the University’s career centre, almost 5 minutes after moving home (and on my birthday no less!) I got a call for a four month job back in the city I loved. I moved back and the four months there were the better part of 2016. But it came to an end and again I moved home. Luckily, October ended with a trip to Arizona. It was a wonderful way to relax and take time off. But once I cam back, it was back to the job searching. So far, nothing.

So I’ve made a decision that in 2017, it will be my year. No months of job searching and hearing nothing back. If by January 1st, 2017 I haven’t heard anything from the countless jobs I have applied to, I will pack my bags and move from Canada to France. To be honest, I’m kind of scared but I think deep down I have always wanted to do it and why not now? I have nothing tying me here and who knows what could come in a new country!

If you could move any where in the world, where would it be? Also have you made any resolutions for 2017 or will you be like me every year before this, waiting until last minute?

À tantôt!

Fireworks.jpeg

